Special Projects

CAROUSEL Chamber Music Ensemble

Brussels-based chamber music ensemble CAROUSEL gathers together eleven talented young musicians, who aim to perform  chamber music at the highest artistic level. Coming from six European countries, Carousel’s enthusiastic musicians offer a modern and creative approach to both well-known repertoires as well as contemporary works.

The ensemble has the privilege of being at the creative heart of music premiering pieces and arrangements written for them by composers in residence such as Wim Henderickx, Jeroen d’Hoe and Jelle Tassyns.  CAROUSEL’s programs are flexible, varying from trio to octet, and covering a large wide ranging  repertoire.

Their founding members are clarinettist Annelien Van Wauwe and violinist Samuel Nemtanu and together with the others in the ensemble, they wish CAROUSEL to bring its listeners closer to the ensemble’s core philosophy: communicating in a universal language that connects people and dissolves cultural and artistic borders.

CAROUSEL will take you on a vivid, joyful and enthusiastic musical ride, which will appeal to all who enjoy great music played with passion and commitment.

Discover CAROUSEL:

website repertoire facebook instagram youtube

  1. Modern Music

Works dedicated to Annelien Van Wauwe:

Manfred Trojahn:

– ‘Sonata V’ for clarinet and piano
World premiere at Zürich Tonhalle March 6th 2017
commissioned by BBCRadio3 and the Royal Philharmonic Society

– ‘Clarinet Quintet’ (2022)

Jelle Tassyns: ‘Aria’ for clarinet and piano
World premiere at de Singel Antwerpen January 2016

Wim Henderickx: ‘Sutra’ for clarinet, orchestra and electronics
co-commissioned by Borletti Buitoni Trust
1. Pranayama: the breath of live
2. Dhyana: meditation
3. Dharana: mind concentration
4. Samadhi: intense spiritual union

SUTRA will be a spiritual meditation in which extreme virtuosity is coupled with an intense musical experience.
Passages of peace, meditation and silence are combined with violent outbursts.



modern clarinet & orchestra

Kalevi Aho: clarinet concerto  (2007)

Malcolm Arnold: clarinet concerto Nr. 2

Luigi Bassi: fantasia da concerto Rigoletto

Johannes Brahms: sonata for piano and clarinet Op. 120 Nr.1 F minor (arr. Luciano Berio)

Dirk Brossé: war concerto (2019)

Max Bruch: concerto for clarinet, viola and orchestra Op. 88

Ferruccio Busoni: concertino

Eliott Carter: clarinet concerto (1996)

Ernest Chausson: andante et allegro (arr. Jelle Tassyns)

Aaron Copland: concerto for clarinet, string orchestra, piano and harp

Claude Debussy: première rhapsodie pour clarinette et orchestre

Edison Denisow: clarinet concerto (1989)

Péter Eötvös: Levitation for two clarinets and string orchestra (2007)

Gerald Finzi: clarinet concerto Op. 31

Jean Françaix: concerto for clarinet

Karl Amadeus Hartmann: chamber concerto for clarinet, string quartet and string orchestra

Wim Henderickx: new commission ‘Sutra’ for orchestra, clarinet and electronics (2022-23)

Paul Hindemith: clarinet concerto

Magnus Lindberg: clarinet concerto

Witold Lutoslawski: dance preludes (arrangement for clarinet and orchestra)

James MacMillan: Tuireadh clarinet and string orchestra (1991, arr. 1995)

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: concert pieces for clarinet, basset horn and orchestra Op. 113&114

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: concerto for bassett clarinet and orchestra A Major KV 622

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante for four winds in Eflat major KV 297b *

Carl Nielsen: concerto for clarinet and orchestra Op. 57

Krzysztof Penderecki: clarinet concerto (1983)

Gabriël Pierné: canzonetta (arr. Jelle Tassyns)

Sergeij Prokofieff: sonata for flute and piano D major Op. 94  (arr. Kent Kennan)

Julius Rietz: clarinet concerto in G minor Op. 29

Giacomo Rossini: introduction, theme & variations

Kaija Saariaho: D’om le vrai sens (2010)

Richard Strauss: duet concertino for bassoon, clarinet, harp and strings TrV 293

Toru Takemitsu: fantasma/cantos

Alexandre Tansman: concerto

Jelle Tassyns: concerto for bassoon and clarinet (dedication, 2021)

Mark-Anthony Turnage: Riffs and Refrains (2003)

Manfred Trojahn: rhapsodie

Mieczyslaw Weinberg: clarinet concerto Op. 104

Carl Maria von Weber: concertino in Eflat Major Op. 26

Carl Maria von Weber: quintet for clarinet and string orchestra Op. 34

Carl Maria von Weber: clarinet concerto Nr. 1 in f Moll Op. 73 & Nr. 2 in Eb-major Op. 74

Charles Marie Widor: introduction and rondo (arr. Jelle Tassyns)


chamber music



Annelien Van Wauwe, clarinet & Evgenia Rubinova, piano

Ernest Chausson (1855-1899) Andante & Allegro
Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943) Moments musicaux Op. 16: Nr 2 Allegretto
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Sonate für Klavier und Klarinette Op. 120/1

– intermission –

Gabriel Pierné (1863-1937) Canzonetta Op. 19
Claude Debussy (1862-1918) Première rhapsodie
Claude Debussy (1862-1918) Estampes (solo piano)
Charles Marie Widor (1844-1937) Introduction et Rondo

Evgenia Rubinova


Annelien Van Wauwe, clarinet & Pavel Kolesnikov, piano

Claude Debussy (1862-1918) Première rhapsodie
Magnus Lindberg (1958) Acequia Madre (2012) for clarinet and piano
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Sonate op 120/2 E-flat Major

– intermission –

Alban Berg (1885 – 1935) 4 Stücke
Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1919 – 1996) Sonata for piano and clarinet

Pavel Kolesnikov



CAROUSEL Chamber Music Ensemble

detailed programs via CAROUSEL’s website

1° Let’s dance (quartet/ clarinet, violin, viola, piano)

2° Awakening (quintet/ clarinet, string quartet)

3° Divine (sextet/ clarinet, horn, string trio and piano)

4° Impressions (septet/ clarinet, flute, string quartet, harp)

5° Jewish Journey (septet/ clarinet, flute, string quartet, piano)

6° Sunrise (octet/ clarinet, bassoon, horn, string quintet)

7° Reflection (octet/ clarinet, bassoon, horn, string quintet)

8° Revelation (octet/ clarinet, bassoon, horn string quintet)


CHAMBER MUSIC international prizewinners

Annelien Van Wauwe, clarinet
Severin von Eckardstein, piano
Victor Julien-Laferrière, cello
Franziska Hölscher, violin


P. Hersant Nachtgesang for clarinet, violin, cello and piano
J. Brahms Trio for clarinet, cello and piano a-minor op. 114

– intermission –

R. Schumann 6 Stücke in Kanonischer Form op. 56
W. Rabl Quartet for clarinet, violin, cello and piano


M. Ravel Piano Trio a-minor

– intermission –

O. Messiaen Quatuor pour la fin du temps

Severin von Eckardstein

Victor Julien-Laferrière

Franziska Hölscher